Réunion sur la Coopération Technique

Together with the national authorities, the IAEA team (consisting of the Section Head: Division for Africa, Technical Cooperation Department and a Technical Officer from the Nuclear Safety Division) will:

1.       Conduct a national stakeholder workshop on the IAEA Technical Cooperation Programme and Radiation Safety;

2.       Identify, together with national authorities, priority areas for future cooperation;

3.       In order to accomplish 2 above, the team, together with national authorities, will undertake visits to:

a.       *Ministries of Science and Technology, Water, Agriculture, Health, Industrial Development, Finance/Economic Development, Environment, Energy, Higher Education etc.;

b.      Selected key national institutions and facilities who could act as project counterparts for IAEA assistance;

c.       Institutions involved in the safety and security of radioactive sources;

d.      The Government institution who will be responsible for drafting and championing the national nuclear law.

4.       Initiate the process to develop the Country Programme Framework, the main Technical Cooperation planning tool used by the IAEA and Member States for the next five years.


*Nuclear techniques have applications as in the following table:





Livestock production and health, plant breeding, soil and water management, crop nutrition, insect and pest control, food safety

Human health

Cancer control and therapy, medical physics, nuclear medicine, nutrition


Marine and terrestrial environmental monitoring, climate change

Water resources management

Isotope hydrology to assess surface and groundwaters


Energy planning

Industrial applications

Tracer technology to optimise plant performance, non-destructive testing

Ministère de la Recherche Scientifique et de l'i Face Rectorat, Université Marien Ngouabi, Brazzaville Brazzaville Congo